Smurfdom.

In my first blog I happen to mention how I tripped and fell into signing up for my first 5k. 

I’m not sure when my decision making became worse. Maybe I was nervous.  You know, the impending 5K doom that would cause my subsequent death. THAT WAS DEFINITELY GOING TO HAPPEN.

Anyways, my sister suggested I take on a Pre-5k to see how it compared to my daily training routine. Being that she’s pretty smart and in hecka good shape, I decided to do it.  So the coin flipped (the other choice was bubbles) and the Color Motion 5k was officially on the books. 

Race day finally arrived.

Everyone looks so happy & vibrant! We’ve come together! LMFAO was party anthem-ing! We were going to frolic the clouds of pink! Orange! Purple! …And blue. 

NO ONE TELLS YOU BLUE IS THE DEVIL’S COLOR.

If they ever let you pick your own packet pre-race, just go for a nice green color. Or the pink is very safe. Even the orange is a delightfully benign choice. 

Somewhere before I started, my blue packet exploded and I was no longer the vibrant girl who was frolicking…I transformed into something more magical than one could imagine. 

I was an EFFING SMURF.

The more I sweat, the more blue I became.  I distinctly remember yelling very politely to cloud station #467: 

“PLLLLEEEESASE! NO MOORRREEE BLUE!!! PLEEEASSSEEE!!!! I’M BEGGING YOU! I’M MELLLLLTTTTTTIIINNNGGG…”

Or something to that effect.

But in the end…it didn’t matter.

I FINISHED.

And it was awesome. I was bluer than the Avatars, but it was worth every second knowing I had run the WHOLE thing. 

When 4 months ago, I could barely go a full mile without stopping or trying to talk myself into going home. 

When 4 months ago, I was crying every night because in my green-ness to the runner’s world, I had pushed too hard and my whole body hated me for it.

When 4 months ago, I simply had a goal. 

And I cannot WAIT for the next one. 

Tips for this particular form of race…so listen up!

  • Use SHAMPOO instead of body wash to get the food coloring off your skin (old hair dye trick). 
  • DON’T FORGET SUNGLASSES.
  • If you haul your phone along, make sure it’s in a little ziplock bag to avoid getting all that cornstarch in the nooks and crannies. Poke a hole a the top for head phones if ya like.
  • Bring a clean shirt & a towel for the seat driving home. I’m lucky I have leather seats…blue EVERYWHERE. 
  • Use a 3″ unused paintbrush to dust off your running shoes. 
  • Full outfit straight into the wash by itself.  DO NOT THROW IN HAMPER. (don’t ask)
  • Bring a friend!! My poor best friend, whose not a runner got roped in…so much more fun.  Keeps you motivated!

Have you done one of the color runs? Any tips?

Happy Trails,

A

Leave a Reply

