Oh Sugar. 

Chocolate, cookies, cake, frosting, red licorice, ice cream, black jelly beans, brown sugar poptarts, cupcakes, oreos…

Yummmmmm.

My weakness has always been my sweet tooth.  It’s not a little sweet tooth either, but the kind of sweet tooth that make Willy Wonka look like an amateur.  Makes Candyland look like a boring run of the mill ‘Land’.  I definatly don’t indulge my cravings as much as it tells me too because that would be super counterproductive, but lately the dang thing won’t shut up.

My favorites are Trader Joe’s dark chocolate peanut butter cups.  Protein from the PB? Dark chocolate…that’s good for your heart, right!??!?  What’s not to love????

Though I’ve heard that is not exactly how it works.

Boo.  😦

One of my goals that I set when I started running was to start eating cleaner.  Less refined sugars, white flour, pastas (which rival sugar for my favorite thing), ice cream…

…I gave up meat, how hard could it be???

Way harder than I thought as it turns out.  Even to the point, I’m doing better as a runner than as an eater.  I’ve always been a big fan of “substitution over elimination”, so I thought I’d give it a try in attempting to kick my constant sugar fixation and a couple yummy things happened (and worked!).

  1. I eat a banana every morning for breakfast.  The riper they are, the sweeter they are…so I usually let them set a day or two after I buy them.
  2. Our neighbor is amazing and brought over fresh peaches from their tree.  After slicing them into 1/4 inch slices, I threw them on my grilling tray which you can find here after spraying it with coconut oil mist (again with Trader Joe’s) and sprinkled them with cinnamon.  Onto the BBQ they went until nice and grilled.  THEY WERE AMAZING.
  3. Every morning I drink Americanos…iced or hot depending on the weather.  I always drink them with Almond or Cashew milk instead of breve and ALWAYS with caramel sauce. Which is delicious, but not so great in the clean eating department.  So this week I still made my Americanos, but with honey and nutmeg.  It felt like Christmas.

I have a whole list of things I want to try…at the top of the list, homemade applesauce with honey and ginger.  So stay tuned!  

Any helpful hints on the road to clean??



Happy Trails,

A

2 thoughts on “Oh Sugar. 

Leave a Reply

