Recipe Time: Vegan Sushi

Welcome to Throwback Thursday!!!  

This is one of the first recipes I ever wrote (and not very well lol), and still one of my favorites!!  

As with all my recipes, be creative!! Add what you like, skip what you don’t.

Creativity is the cornerstone of every great kitchen!

Sunday, March 24, 2013

The {vegan-sushi-is-completely-pointless-but-so-tasty} Roll

The {vegan-sushi-is-completely-pointless-but-oh-so-forkin-tasty} Roll was created because I simply decided I couldn’t live without sushi in my life any longer.  I was first introduced to sushi when I moved to Spokane, because Wenatchee was a little behind the times…and it was love at first bite!  My favorites when I was starting out were the tempura-battered ones, but soon my tastes grew.  Now, being vegan, fish is an off limit eatable, but the alternative, California rolls (among a few others), are so boring!  The Roll is my attempt at everything delicious about sushi: the vegan way.  Happy Rolling!

Roll Time…


The {vegan-sushi-is-completely-pointless-but-oh-so-forkin-tasty} Roll

Prep Time: 30-40 Minutes

Cooking Stuffs:
Rice

Dried Nori (Seaweed)

(1) Avocado

(1) Cucumber

(1) Carrot

Vegan Cream Cheese

On-the-side…

Spicy Sushi Sauce

1/2 cup Vegannaise

2 Tablespoons hot sauce

1/4 teaspoons sesame seed oil
Whisk in a small bowl, cover & refrigerate.
Wasabi Sauce:

2 Tablespoons of warm water

2 teaspoons wasabi powder (Mines from Huckleberry’s)


Optional:
Horseradish Sauce {Recipe: Here}

Soy Sauce

Pickled Ginger

Sesame Seeds

Poppy Seeds

Other Supplies…

Sushi Mats (World Market!)

Chop Sticks (World Market!)

Small dishes for dipping sauces (World Market!)

Troubles rolling your sushi??  Wiki can help  here 😉


Happy Trails!!

A

Leave a Reply

